By Howard Takara (Oroku Azajin Club)

The Hawaii United Okinawa Association Mixed Handicap Bowling League celebrated the completion of its 22nd season with an awards banquet at the Pagoda Hotel’s International Ballroom on March 17. The league championship was won by the Minami Nakagusuku II team, headed by captain Vanessa Kroll. Rounding out the team were Mary Ann Goya, Chandra and Jon Yamashiro, Alvin and Debbie Gumapac and Alan Kroll.

The league wasted no time kicking off its 23rd season, which began April 1, at Leeward Bowl in Pearl City. The new league officers are Tomomi Shimabukuro, president; Carl Nakata, vice president; Ashley Shimabukuro, secretary and Cynthia Uyehara, treasurer. The league currently consists of 12 teams who bowl and enjoy each other’s company every Sunday beginning at 1 p.m.

The Bowling League would like to field more teams. Interested clubs or individuals are encouraged to call Tomomi at 584-1667 (pager) or 841-2364 (home).